Texas Food Council

Texas Food Council is a freestanding affiliate of the Texas Retailers Association. The premier group representing the supermarket and grocery store industry in Texas, the Texas Food Council is the successor organization to the Texas Food Marketing Association which merged into the Texas Retailers Association in 1984 and the Gulf Coast Retailers Association which merged into TRA in 2006.

The Texas Food Council meets twice per year. It elects its own chair and vice-chair and is comprised of representatives from both independent grocery stores to the largest supermarket chains and mass merchandisers. Companies comprising membership in the Texas Food Council include: Albertson’s, Arlan’s, AWG, Baywood Foods, Brookshire Brothers, Brookshire Grocery, Cox Foodarama, CVS, El Rancho, El Rio Grande, ElRod’s, Fiesta Mart, Food City, Food King, Food Town, Food World,  GE Foodland, Gerland’s, Grocers Supply, Grocery Services, HEB, Hodges’s Food Basket, Homeland Markets, Jim’s Supermarket, Junior’s, Kroger, La Fiesta, Lawrence Brothers, Lewis Food Town, Los Altos, Market Basket, Minyard’s, Randall’s/Tom Thumb, Rehkopf Enterprises, Rice Epicurean, SaknSav, Savers Cost Plus, Seller Bros, Sol Supermarket, Super Bravo. Target, Walgreen’s, Wal-Mart, United, Village Food and Ziegler’s.

The current chair of the Texas Food Council is Kathy Sweidel- Caton with Lewis Food Town. Ms. Sweidel-Caton also serves on the Texas Retailers Association Board of directors as an officer and member of the Executive Committee.

Some of the many issues that the Texas Food Council are actively engaged and advocates for food retailers are:

  • TABC Reform
  • EBT and eWIC
  • SNAP Program
  • WIC Program
  • New Hire Reporting and Wage Garnishment
  • Tobacco Regulations and Enforcement
  • Money Services
  • Organized Retail Crime
  • Legislative Issues

To request further information or to become a member of the Texas Food Council, contact Joe Williams at jwilliams@txretailers.org.

Comments ( 0 )

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *